Thoughts on my Education

What is education and what is holding us from becoming who we want to be right out of school, colleges, and universities?

In Pensacola Christian College, which is in Florida, I was determined to develop an understanding of the world we live in on a biological level; I wanted to learn about the other croyance – understanding and belief that is- of how our universe was created, or at least, how it came to exist. I majored in Biology (Freshman year, 2003) because I wanted to, first, follow my grandfather’s steps since he was a dentist AND FURTHER understand the universe we live in and science was that outlet.

As far as my grandfather, I looked up to him greatly and dentistry is what he studied and I wanted him to be proud of the route I took at least.

Although I was not a big fan of dentistry nor orthodontology, I had to compromise and that is why I signed up for a major in Biology. I wanted to become a doctor and the more classes I was taking to accomplish that, I realized that Chemistry and I didn’t have chemistry. I gave science a second chance and slightly changed my first field and majored in Physical Therapy, that was my sophomore year in PCC. I loved how pragmatic everything was. I was unto something great and because it was hands on, we were (my classmates and I) already working on athletes injuries, role-playing that is. The classes were very practical yet I still had to pass my Chemistry classes with a B+ or better and finally realized that our chemical balance was definitely not mixing- Chemistry isn’t for me! That was the first semester as a sophomore.

I enrolled in Business Management in my second semester and was bored out of my mind; Accounting classes nearly killed me of boredom. That was my only problem. I enjoyed the other classes but did not enjoyed out of passion.

I attended two different educational institutions, from 2003 to 2005 I went to PCC, it was a private Christian school that had its own publishing company and back then I was  paying $7,000 a year for tuition. Actually, my father was doing it out of pocket. We did not have any Federal help because of our diplomatic status then but also because it was a private school.

I hence attended that school for its stands on Christian values but also because it was the most affordable private school around. I definitely grew spiritually because of the doctrinal structure of that school and great friends I made who I am still in contact with. I left Florida in 2005 and came back to New York City.

I had to pay my own way to school because my father was overwhelmed. A year before me, my older sister, Eva had graduated and went to Albany University. My dad was paying for that. A year after I graduated, my younger brother graduated as well, in 2004, and my father was in charge of that college transition – financially, he was drained.

I registered in 2006 for classes at York College, in Queens, and majored in a different field- Communications Technology. At the end of that semester, I decided that it was not for me so I majored in Accounting. Why did I do that? I honestly do not know because it was the worse mistake of my life, at least one of them. After that, I went into Marketing as a Junior at York College in my second semester. Guess what? I smacked myself in the head and shook my head when I finally changed to be a French Major as a Senior there. I should have just done that a long time ago!

It has been a journey, this school thing and I appreciate every moment of it. I can speak about Biology, Physical Therapy, Business related matters, and how documentaries are edited, movies made or interviews are set up because I belonged to those fields and invested my time in them.

Is everyone like me? No, some people know exactly what they want to major in and invest 4 years or so and graduate. Others change no more that twice and find a major that suit them and graduate. I changed mine too many times and lost track. I actually wish that I went into Creative Writing but back then I did not envision a “living” as a writer or poet.

When it comes to school, Passion and Money come into play. Some go for the money and ignore their true passion, others care not about money and invest in their passions and try to compromise and invest in something that will satisfy their passion and will bring plenty of money.

I want to take this moment and thank my father for his many sacrifices. Let me note one thing: A Diplomat is in no way a millionaire, that is my disclaimer, and it was not easy for him to assist us – my brothers and I – as we were on our way to different colleges and universities. I appreciate you dear dad for being my rock. Education in the USA is costly, great education as expensive, and most cannot afford it. What can we all do to change that?

image

Published by: ckoumtog

Activist, Model, Poet/Writer, Soccer Player and an Entrepreneur at ENTREPRENEUR DE DEMAIN. I have to clarify that my focus from 2006 until 2012 was modeling and the Entertainment business. I never wanted to be an actor although I currently have two Wavers under my belt. I just "need" one more to go from being a Non Union to an Union (SAG) "actor" but {again} that was never my passion- acting! I (nonetheless) have [indeed] done a number of background acting works and gigs. My first work was for NBC and the first show I have ever worked on was 30 Rock. It was unbelievable being on stage with Aleck Baldwin, Tracy Morgan, Tina Faye, LL Cool J, Wayne Brady (those last two were featured co-Stars); that was shot on 2/08/2007. I also did some background acting on Cashmere Mafia for ABC as of 9/2007, Ugly Betty from 2008-2010, Kings (2009), Royal Pains and the Good Wife (2010). It was great being an extra also in Films like: THE SMURFS (shot on June 2010) and NEW YEAR'S EVE (2011). As a Poet, I not only want to convey what I feel but {I want to} also express what you, the reader, feel. My inspiration is the loving grace of God (Jesus Christ), my country of birth, the Republic of Chad (Africa) and this World you and I live in. I also find it in Nature (her beauty), my Family and experience. But also in great writers and people like Leopold Sedar Senghor, Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King Jr, Malcolm X, Maya Angelou, Langston Hughes, e e cummings, Napoleon Hill (Think and Grow Rich) and Jacques Prevert (he is French, I am fluent in French). I also did model as mentioned, I have done a number of fashion shows (Couture Fashion Week in 2009 & 2010, Africa Fashion Week in 2009, etc) when speaking of my younger days. As a soccer player, I played every Sunday in an amateur league in Long Island City and Flushing, Queens. Actually, I went to Kansas City March of 2011 to try out professionally to be part of the Kansas City Sporting (a Major League Soccer) team. I did not make it, unfortunately. My sense of Activism is an everyday matter, from the way I carry myself to writing and promoting this beautiful Art called Poetry. In the future, it will involve concrete actions in developing not only Chad but Africa and promoting the values of Education. I am currently dabbling with the thought of becoming an accomplished lucrative poet (I write a lot!), becoming and a successful Entrepreneur. But yes, I would love to be connected to an understanding PUBLISHING COMPANY that will understand my creative drive and artistic vision so please reach out to me or refer my work if you can. As you read and as you saw, my real Passion is Poetry. I love writing poems. Recently, I have been performing it only because it was another way to reach out to People (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAKfUhJ4BJ8). I recently was asked to blog for the 2013 Men's Pageant for Face of Africa. (Here is the first article I wrote http://faceofafricausa.com/preparation/). "Home-less" was a poem written for a project that was helping people affected by hunger and poverty. It was for the The FWCares Project. http://flexwriterblogsonline.net/?p=231. My self-published book of poetry, entitled CLASSICS: DIPLOMATS IN EXILE (2007) is my #1 Achievement. I started writing at the age of 18. I am in need of sponsors and/or publishers. This vision God blessed me with is simple: We Will Change The World One Poem At A Time. NON STOP POETRY... It is within ALL of us! Just find it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

